Somewhere on this bright sunny day in Washington, there is a little girl who did a big thing for a beginning author. Obviously the odds are quite low that she will read this, but if she does, if she finds this blog, I hope she realizes just how much her simple action means to me.

What great huge thing did she do? What marvelous action of heroic preportions?

Today, I left my notebook in the ladies bathroom of the local library, while carefully remembering my coat and purse. The notebook was precariously close to the sinks, which had suffered from a day of concerned women ridding their hands of germs.

Soap and water are not good for notebooks.

Oblivious to the fact that my notebook was in immediate peril, I strolled out of the library, mind completely submerged in what I’d just spent over 2 hours on sitting in a chair in the library–the ending to my novel. (Not the last chapter mind, but the two chapters or so before that.)

I was getting excited, because these chapters represent a gap in the story I have to date been unable to fill. They represent far more than just a few words in a 90 cent notebook. They represented a very large portion of my heart.

Needless to say when I got home and trotted up the stairs to write all these jewels into my novel…I was not pleased. Where was my notebook?

I thought backwards, and realized just exactly where I’d left it.

Fortunately, when I returned to the library, panicked visions of what might have become of it in my head, I found out the truth.

Some nice little girl had rescued it from the sinks, and carried it to lost and found. I don’t know her name, but I do know she comes to the waist of the library lady, who was tickled by the sweetness of her good deed and wanted me to know about it.

I’m not tickled. It wasn’t just a sweet little act of goodness. It was an outright rescue. I’m so glad someone cared enough about my work (or at least about a 90 cent notebook) to take it to lost and found.

So I thank you little girl. I thank you.